Best CrossFit socks? I spent $580.76 on 30 pairs to find out…

Update April 2022 – I have purchased 30 pairs of athletic socks (from Nike, Rogue, Under Armour, Swiftwick, Stance, Darn Tough, Hylete, Brooks, Balega, Smartwool, Features, Wrightsock, Injini, and Adidas) to test during my CrossFit workouts the next few months. The early results are good! Some socks are definitely better for CrossFit than others. I don’t know how much a sock really matters, but I am determined to find out!

As I review each sock, I will update this post, and keep the socks I like the best at the top of the list. I’m doing this test in conjunction with my CrossFit shoe testing. I do CrossFit 4-5 times a week, so it will only take me about 6 weeks to finish up the sock testing. My favorite socks, I will redo multiple workouts with later in the testing.

My Favorite CrossFit Socks

I’m about 10 pairs into my testing and so far two socks have really stood out that I loved doing a WOD in: the Stance Low Sock Run Tab, and the Darn Tough

Top Sock Pick for CrossFit: Stance Low Sock Run Tab

stance crossfit sock

Initial Review: Very nice feeling. Slippery on wood. Medium effort to put on, tab is nice and big and gives good thumb spot to grab and put on. Very cozy.

03-28-22 WOD – Sock felt great, no big slippage issues, no-show was nice. Would definitely wear again.

Sale
Stance Run Tab St Socks (Large, White)
  • Moisture-Wicking Socks: Has Feel360 technology to keep your feet dry, comfortable, and odor-free
  • Engineered Arch Support: Our running socks with arch support stabilize your feet for all-day comfort
  • High-Quality Socks: Features a tab that rises just above your shoe and below your ankle
Stance Run Tab St Socks (Large, White)

Top Sock Pick for CrossFit: Darn Tough Merino Wool Run No Show Tab Ultra-Lightweight with Cushion

This sock is breathable, has great traction inside the shoe, and has a really nice low-profile that looks really good with a shoe like the Nike Metcon React Turbo.

Nike Metcon React Turbo
Very low profile no-show with this Merino sock from Darn Tough. Awesome WOD sock.
Darn Tough Men's Run No Show Tab Ultra-Lightweight with Cushion - Large Black Merino Wool Socks for Running
  • Ultra Lightweight with Cushion - Provides a light layer of cushioning along the bottom of the foot. Ultra-Light, ultra-comfortable. True Seamless technology allows for an undetectable seam fusion for...
  • No Show Tab Height - The toughest sock you’ll never see. When your shoes are on this sock is gone.
  • Composition - Knit with 48% Nylon, 48% Merino Wool, 4% Lycra Spandex. The fast action wicking pulls moisture away from skin, so no more sweaty, stinky socks. The soft, breathable merino wool has fast...

Brooks Run-In Socks – 3 Pairs

03-30-22 WOD – Nice sock, a bit thin on top, but would wear again, especially for the price. Nice midrange sock, easy off and easy on.

https://www.rei.com/product/195599

Darn Tough Ultra Light No Show Sock – Athletic (Charcoal)

DARN TOUGH (Style 1437) Men's Athletic Sock - Charcoal, Large
  • Lightweight - Built light, darn comfy and super strong—substantial construction for a Lightweight, sure fit. True Seamless technology allows for an undetectable seam fusion for an Ultra-smooth,...
  • No Show Height - The toughest sock you’ll never see. When your shoes are on this sock is gone.
  • Composition - Knit with 52% Merino Wool 44% Nylon 4% Lycra Spandex. The fast action wicking pulls moisture away from skin, so no more sweaty, stinky socks. The soft, breathable merino wool has fast...

Darn Tough No Show Tab Ultra-Lightweight Run Sock (White)

Darn Tough Men's No Show Tab Ultra-Lightweight Run Sock (Style #1033) - White, Large
  • Ultra Lightweight - Ultra-light feel and ultimate next-to-skin profile are staples of the no cushion running socks. True seamless technology allows for an undetectable seam fusion for an ultra smooth,...
  • No Show Tab Height - The no-show socks are the toughest sock you will never see. When your shoes are on this sock is gone.
  • Composition - Knit with 55% Nylon, 40% Merino Wool, 5% Lycra Spandex. The fast action wicking pulls moisture away from the skin, so no more sweaty, stinky socks. The soft, breathable merino wool has...

Balega Hidden Comfort Socks (White)

https://www.rei.com/product/881778

Swiftwick FLITE XT FIVE [Crew] (Black)

Swiftwick Rogue Crew Flite XT Sock on Metcon 7s
This is my favorite CrossFit crew sock so far.

This is an awesome crew sock, I loved wearing this sock during the WOD. Shown with a pair of Nike Metcon 7s.

https://www.roguefitness.com/swiftwick-flite-xt-five-socks-black-1?a_aid=5f22d557ccc04

Nike Everyday Max Cushioned No Show (3 Pairs)

Nike Everyday Max Cushioned No Show
Nike Everyday Max Cushioned No Show with Reebok Nano X1s

04-04-22 WOD – A little slippery, not bad. Mostly un-remarkable. Thicker than Brooks run-in middle range pair I also liked.

I would wear these again, in fact, I just washed the first set of three pairs and put into my sock drawer for regular rotation in my workouts and runs.

Nike Men's Low Cut Dri-Fit Cotton Cushioned Socks (Large, White/Heather/Black)
  • Dri-FIT technology helps you stay dry and comfortable.
  • Thick terry sole provides impact cushioning.
  • Arch compression band offers a supportive fit.

Nike Spark Lightweight No Show

Nike Spark Cushioned No Show
Nike Spark Cushioned No Show with Metcon 7 Turbos

04-06-22 WOD – I flew in these socks, but they are very, very thin. For a short workout where I want the absolute lightest feet, I would grab these, but otherwise they felt too thin for my day to day workout taste. I paired these socks with the Metcon 7 Turbo’s, this is a great lightweight combo. The workout I used these with was front squats, hand stand push-ups, and bar muscle ups.

https://www.nike.com/t/spark-lightweight-no-show-running-socks-GbBWXD/DA3589-100

Nike Spark Cushioned No Show

Nike Spark Cushioned No Show
Nike Spark Cushioned No Show with Reebok Nano X1

Not a big fan of how these feel, they are cushioned but in very specific places (heel and toe area). They feel a little piecemeal

Rogue No Show

rogue no show athletic shows
rogue no show sock with nano x1

4-1-22 Initial – a little slippery, medium effort to put on. Like the white stripe look, and feel is good.

4-1-22 WOD – Comfy, would wear again as long as not doing too many quick side to side movements, just a little slippery.

Darn Tough Athletic 1/4 Sock

darn tough athlethic quarter sock for CrossFit workout
Darn tough atheltic merino with nano x

Initial: Easy enough to slip on, but tight toe box. Very slippery in shoe. Really prominent seam, pretty ugly over top of toes.

03-30-22 WOD – Would not wear these again. Very slippery in the shoe, pretty ugly looking, seam over toes is uncomfortable.

Price: premium

Darn Tough (Style 1715) Men's Athletic Sock - Charcoal, Large
  • Lightweight - Built light, darn comfy and super strong—substantial construction for a lightweight, sure fit. True Seamless technology allows for an undetectable seam fusion for an ultra-smooth,...
  • 1/4 Sock Height - Sits just above the ankle. The “just right” height that’s fast and light. Great for low-cut hikers and running shoes.
  • Composition - Knit with 51% Merino Wool 45% Nylon 4% Lycra Spandex. The fast action wicking pulls moisture away from skin, so no more sweaty, stinky socks. The soft, breathable merino wool has fast...

Ten Thousand Training Sock – No Show Black

I bought a 3-pack of these socks, but nearly immediately regretted the purchase. I wore them for a few workouts, and then found myself always reaching for my standard Adidas ankle sock. The main downside I found with these socks is just how difficult they are to put on! I dreaded dragging them onto my feet, and eventually just gave up. Not worth the $16 a pair when there are much better options at that premium price point.

Adidas Cushioned Low Cut (3-pair)

These socks have been my go-to for a few years before my sock test experiment. They aren’t the most expensive, or cheapest, kinda right in the middle They are easy to put on, have a nice enough cushion, and I’ve never really thought about them during years of CrossFit workouts, so that must mean something positive.

People spend a lot of time choosing the right type of shoes for CrossFit or other gear for CrossFit to wear, but getting a good pair of socks for CrossFit is something often overlooked. There are a lot of different types of socks out there, though, and it can sometimes be confusing figuring out which ones are right for you. From men’s socks for CrossFit to women’s compression socks and more, each variety offers specific benefits to the person who is wearing them. This article will highlight the different types of socks for CrossFit and help you decide which type of socks is the best to meet your needs.

SB SOX Compression Socks
SB Sox makes some of the best compression socks for CrossFit and trainings

Knee-High Socks 

Probably the most common type of socks you’ll see in the box is knee high socks. There are two reasons to wear above the knee socks.  First and foremost, they help protect your shins during deadlifts and box jumps. In fact, it might be more appropriate to call them deadlifting socks.  If you’ve even been doing CrossFit for short while, you will have probably scraped up your shins during deadlifts.  The extra barrier between the bar and your knee really helps to reduce that direct friction and will decrease the likelihood of your shins bleeding. This is particularly relevant for CrossFit girls who want the awesome CrossFit workout, but don’t want marks all over their shins! It helps with box jumps too, but obviously if you completely smash your shins on the side of a hard edge, you’re still going to get hurt. So don’t!

knee high CrossFit socks
Rogue, the official supplier for the CrossFit games has a great collection of different types of CrossFit socks

Rogue (the official supplier of the CrossFit games) make a knee high sock. Click on the picture to purchase.

Also, remember that there are A LOT of knee high socks out there, and you don’t need to stick to only  brands related to the CrossFit community.  Just have a look at Amazon and search for knee high socks.  A lot of people like to wear soccer socks, for instance.

NEWZILL Men & Women's Compression Socks for Athletic, Nurses, Shin Splints, Maternity & Flight Travel, Black Gray Argyle - Large (1 pair)

The second major reason to wear knee high socks is, well, to look good! To put it simply, it has become very fashionable around the world to wear knee high socks. That’s why these knee-high CrossFit socks are so popular.  And there are certainly a lot of great looking knee socks out there.  For example, check out this argyle sock from NEWZILL Compression Wear.

One of the most popular style is the striped knee high sock.  Check some out here.

There are also some great Reebok CrossFit knee high socks. Unfortunately, however, they’re all of stock at the moment.  I hope to update this soon when they’ve got more in.

Compression Socks

Compression socks do more than cover the foot—they can actually help you both recover in between workouts and gain more power during them. They’re generally knee high, so they can also be categorized as a specialized type of knee high sock.  Compression socks work by helping to stabilize the muscles, which in turn allows you to increase your strength and have more control over your body. Plus, because they’re knee high, they can also protect you against the bars rubbing against your shins or from rope burn.  Also keep in mind that they don’t have to be literally “socks”.  There are a lot of calf ‘sleeves’ out there, which have exactly the same effect.

There are a lot of different types of compression socks out there, so have a look around here and choose the one that best meets your needs and aesthetic taste. Quickly, here are a few things you want to look out for:

  1. Excellent compression system; this is a given.
  2. Antimicrobial – so your feet don’t smell!
  3. Moisture wicking – so you don’t overheat.
  4. They should stay in place! The last thing you want to be doing during a WOD is pulling up your socks every couple of minutes.

Some of the best brands for these are 2XU, Zensah and CEP. For example, 2XU’s compression calf guards (below) have a world class compression system made from  antimicrobial and wicking material, and is specially designed to stay in place.

Remember, we also have an article written about other types of compression gears for CrossFit so check it out.

No Show Socks

The final type of socks we’re looking at are ultra low-cut socks, which are an extremely popular choice amongst both men and women. CrossFitters who are looking for a lightweight sock that isn’t visible above the outside of the shoe. CrossFit Reebok makes a type of low cut sock that features antibacterial fires that work to reduce potentially embarrassing foot odor. This will mean that your socks won’t smell as much, and let’s face it, that’s something that would be mighty helpful! These socks also feature built-in arch support to help stabilize the foot during workouts. Reebok CrossFit (below) make an excellent pair of low cut CrossFit socks.

Do you have any questions about socks for CrossFit? Or do you have your own opinions – agree or disagree? Please leave a comment about the best socks for CrossFit below!